Cross Party Group for Biodiversity

Wednesday 11th March 2015, 12.15 - 1.30pm

Conference Room C, Tŷ Hywel

Attendees

Llyr Huws Gruffydd AM (LG) CPG Chair

Jocelyn Davies AM Assembly Member
Alun Ffred Jones AM Assembly Member

Rosanna Raison (William Powell AM) Researcher & Media Officer

Russel Hobson Butterfly Conservation/WEL Landuse and Biodiversity Group Chair

Nigel Ajax-Lewis Wildlife Trusts of South & West Wales

James Byrne Wales Wildlife Trusts

Raoul Bhambral WEL

Clare Reed WEL / Marine Conservation Society

1. Welcome from the Chair, Llyr Gruffydd AM

LG welcomed members to the meeting and explained the focus of the meeting was to have an open discussion on where next for the group, followed by the AGM of the Group.

2. Discussion

LG began by reminding the meeting he also chairs the Cross Party Group for Rural Affairs. This group has had a focus on legislation, have invited Ministers to talk and have provided written submissions to Ministers about the impact of legislation on rural communities.

It was suggested that this group could help look at the Environment Bill, consider gaps in legislation or lack of implementation, as well as integration between Bills.

Outcomes:

- To hold a spring meeting in May/June to look at future legislation, e.g. wildlife bill.
- To consider what's happening in other devolved admin invite reps from CPGs in others admin, e.g. Scotland, request for 10 min presentations on how they work.
- Oct tie in with marine, to look at existing provision in existing legislation and what is not being implemented

Actions for RB / Scott Fryer

- Dates of next meetings ALL to be held at 12.15 13.15 in Conf Room C (ground floor, no escort required) on Tues 9 June, Weds 21 Oct, Weds 3 Feb (AGM)
- Get speakers for May / June + Oct for a lunchtime session

3. Annual General Meeting

LG opened the floor to nominations for Secretary. Wales Environment Link was noted in and will continue to provide the secretariat for the group.

The contact is Russel Hobson, rhobson@butterflyconservationwales.org.uk.

LG then opened the floor to nominations for Chair. JB nominated LG and was seconded by AFJ. LG was voted in again as Chair.